廖俊智教授 (James C. Liao, Ph.D.) 簡介



President Academia Sinica Taipei, Taiwan

E-mail: liaoj@gate.sinica.edu.tw

Education:

- B.S., Chemical Engineering, National Taiwan University (1980)
- Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, University of Wisconsin (1987)

Professional Positions:

- Research Scientist, Eastman Kodak Company (1987-89)
- Texas A&M University: Assistant Professor (1990-93); Associate Professor (1993-97), Chemical Engineering; Adjunct Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics (1993-97)
- University of California, Los Angeles: Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering: Professor (1997-2016); Vice Chair (2002-07; 2009-12); Chancellor's Professor (2008-11); Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Professor (2011-2016); Chair (2012-2016); Chair, Bioengineering Department (2015-2016)
- Associate Director, NASA-UCLA Institute for Cell Mimetic Space Exploration (2003-07); Associate Director for Energy Research, UCLA-DOE Institute for Genomics and Proteomics (2007-2015); Member, Molecular Biology Institute (2010-2016); Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2011-2016).
- Scientific Advisory Board Member, Gevo Inc. (2006-2009)
- Co-founder, Easel Biotechnologies
- Advanced Research Advisory Committee member, Technology Advisory Committee member, Industrial Technology Research Institute, Taiwan (2007-2010)
- Advisory Council Member, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Cornell University (2012-2016)
- Consultant, CPC Green Energy Research Institute (2015)
- Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Braskem (2014-2016)
- Board Member, International Metabolic Engineering Society (2012-2016)
- Distinguished Research Fellow, Institute of Biological Chemistry, Academia Sinica (2016-present)

Research Interests:

- Metabolic Engineering
- Synthetic Biology
- Bioenergy

Honors & Awards:

- Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (2002)
- Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Division Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2006)
- Merck Award in Metabolic Engineering (2006)
- Charles Thom Award, Society for Industrial Microbiology (2008)
- Marvin J. Johnson Award, Biochemical Technology Division, American Chemical Society (2009)
- Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2009)
- James E. Bailey Award, Society for Biological Engineering (2009)
- Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, Academic Category (2010)
- White House Champion of Change for Innovations in Renewable Energy (2012)
- Member, National Academy of Engineering, USA (2013)
- ENI Award Renewable Energy Prize, Italy (2013)
- US National Academy of Sciences Award for the Industrial Application of Science (2014)
- Academician, Academia Sinica (2014)
- Elected Member of the US National Academy of Sciences (2015)
- · Fellow, National Academy of Inventors (2016)
- · Named Lectureship:
- Lacey Lectureship, California Institute of Technology (2006); Honorary Epistar Chair Professorship, National Tsing Hua University (2006); Trotter Distinguished Lectureship, University of Tennessee (2007); Ashland Lectureship, University of Kentucky (2009); Bollum Symposium Lecture, University of Minnesota (2009); Fredrickson Lecturer, University of Minnesota (2011); Julian C. Smith Lecturer, Cornell (2012); G.J. and S.T. Su Distinguished Lectureship, University of Rochester (2012); Sunney I and Irene Y Chan Lecturer, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (2013); Sunney Chan Lecturer, Academia Sinica (2013); J.W.T. Spinks Lecturer, University of Saskatchewan, Canada (2014); Tis Lahiri Lecturer, Vanderbilt University (2014); Britton Chance Lecturer, University of Pennsylvania (2014); Distinguished McFerrin Lecturer, Texas A&M University (2015); Cockrell School Endowed Lecturer, University of Texas, Austin (2015); Signature Seminar, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park (2015); Covestro Lecture in Sustainability (Chemistry lecture), University of Minnesota (2015)