飯島澄男博士 (Sumio Iijima, Ph.

D.) 簡介



Professor, Meijo University

Nagoya, Japan

E-mail: iijimas@meijo-u.ac.jp

Director, AIST / NTRC

Senior Research Fellow / NEC Co.

EDUCATION

- B.Sc. in Engineering, University of Electro-Communications, Japan (1963).
- M.Sc. in Physics, Tohoku University, Japan (1965).
- Ph. D. in Physics, Tohoku University, Japan (1968).

PROFESSIONAL POSITIONS

1968-1974 Research Associate, Research Institute for Scientific Measurements, Tohoku

University, Sendai

1970-1977: Research Associate, Department of Physics, Arizona State University, Tempe,

Arizona

1977-1982: Senior Research Associate, Center for Solid State Science, Arizona State

University, Tempe, Arizona

1979.3-1979.9: Visiting Senior Scientist, Department of Metallurgy and Materials Science,

University of Cambridge, Cambridge

1982-1987: Group Leader, ERATO Program, Research Development Corporation of Japan,

Nagoya

1987-Present: Senior Research Fellow, NEC Corporation, Tsukuba (Joined NEC in 1987 as

Senior Principal Researcher)

1999-Present: Professor, Meijo University, Nagoya (Visiting Lecturer, 1998 – 1999)

2001-Present: Director, Nanotube Research Center, National Institute of Advanced Industrial

Science and Technology (AIST), Tsukuba

2005-Present: Dean, Sungkyunkwan University, Advanced Institute of Nanotechnology

(SAINT)

2007-Present: Distinguished Invited University Professor of Nagoya University, Nagoya

RESEARCH INTERESTS

- Nano Science
- Materials Science
- Electron microscopy

• Crystallography

HONORS & AWARDS

Academy 2007 2009 2010 2012	Members: Foreign Associate of The National Academy of Sciences Foreign Member of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters Member of The Japan Academy Foreign Member of The Chinese Academy of Sciences
Typical At 1976.8 1985.12 1997.1 1999.2 2002.3 2002.4 2002.6 2003.11 2004.8 2007.6 2007.6 2007.11 2008.9 2008.10	wards: Bertram Eugene Warren Diffraction Physics Award (The American Crystallography Society) Nishina Memorial Award (The Nishina Memorial Foundation, Japan) Asahi Award (The Asahi Shinbun Cultural Foundation, Japan) Tsukuba Prize (The Science and Technology Promotion Foundation of Ibaraki, Japan) J.C.McGroddy Prize for New Materials (American Physical Society, USA) Agilent Europhysics Prize (European Physical Society) Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics (The Franklin Institute, USA) Japan Academy Award and Imperial Award (The Japan Academy) Person of Cultural Merits (Japanese Government) The Society's Medal of Achievement in Carbon Science and Technology (The American Carbon Society, USA) Fujihara Award (The Fujihara Foundation of Science, Japan) Gregori Aminoff Prize in Crystallography 2007 (Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences) 2007 Balzan Prize for Nanoscience (International Balzan Prize Foundation, Italy) The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience 2008 (The Kavli Foundation, Norway) The Prince of Asturias Award for Technical Scientific Research 2008 (The Prince of Asturias Foundation, Spain) Order of Cultural Merits
2000.11 2001.7 2002.5 2002.12 2003.3 2004.6 2005.10 2005.11 2007.8 2009.2 2009.3 2009.6 2009.9 2010.10	Members (Foreign): Fellow, The American Physical Society Honorary Fellowship, Royal Microscopy Society Honorary Doctor of the University of Antwerp Honorary Member, The Crystallographic Society of Japan Honorary Doctor of Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) Honorary Member, The Japanese Society of Microscopy Honorary Professor of Xi'an Jiaotong University Honorary Professor of Peking University Fellow, The Japan Society of Applied Physics, Fellow, Microscopy Society of America Honorary Member, The Chemical Society of Japan, Honorary Professor of Tsinghua University Distinguished Professor of The University of Electro-Communications Honorary Professor of Southeast University and Others