Econophysics Colloquium 2010


November 4-6, 2010, Taipei, Taiwan


submission deadline for abstract has extended to June 11, 2010




The annual colloquium, now in its sixth consecutive year, provides a platform for the presentation of interdisciplinary ideas from different communities, for instance economics and finance, physics, mathematics, biology, computer science, engineering, etc. Its main aim is to foster an open-minded, cross-fertilizing, and regular exchange of ideas among scholars and practitioners of different fields in a friendly environment.


Conference Topics


Conference topics traditionally include the application of methods and modeling paradigms from physics and complexity science to socio-economic problems, for instance in the following fields:


l      Statistical and probabilistic methods in economics and finance

l      Multi-scaling analysis and modeling

l      Complex socio-economic networks

l      Agent-based models in economics and finance

l      Evolutionary economics

l      Information, bounded rationality, and learning

l      Markets as complex adaptive systems

l      Non-linear dynamics and econometrics

l      Nonadditive entropy and nonextensive statistical mechanics in socio-economics


However, in light of the recent financial crisis and the resultant heating reflections and discussions on the mainstream economics, this conference also welcomes provocative studies which use econophysics models to provide lessons, insights or merits which are not easily available in the mainstream approaches. Studies which provide counter arguments will be considered without bias.


Abstract Submissions


The abstract should not exceed 2 pages in length and must contain:


1.      The title of presentation.

2.      Names and affiliation of the presenting authors.

3.      Contact information for the corresponding author, including both postal and e-mail addresses.


Once the abstract is prepared please convert it into PDF format and e-mail your abstract named "YourSurnameAbstract.pdf" to with the Subject: econophysics2010.


Paper Submissions


Once your abstract is accepted, please prepare your full paper named "YourSurnamePaper.pdf" in compliance with the format of International Review of Financial Analysis (IRFA) ( and submit both to and the Special Issue online submission of IRFA. A limited number of high quality papers which are relevant to financial markets will be selected for the forthcoming Special Issue of IRFA.


Important Dates


l      Deadline for abstract submission

 June 11, 2010 (deadline extended)

l      Notification of acceptance

 July 16, 2010

l      Deadline for paper submission

 August 27, 2010

l      Deadline for registration

 October 1, 2010


Organizing Committee


l      Sai-Ping Li

(Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan)

l      Shu-Heng Chen

(National Chengchi University, Taipei, Taiwan)

l      Sun-Chong Wang

(National Central University, Jhongli, Taiwan)

l      Chung-I Chou

(Chinese Culture University, Taipei, Taiwan)


Scientific Committee


l      Tomaso Aste

(The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)

l      Lisa Borland

(Evnine Vaughan Associates Inc., San Francisco, USA)

l      Giulio Bottazzi

(Sant'Anna School, Pisa, Italy)

l      J. Philippe Bouchaud

(Science & Finance/CFM, Paris, France)

l      Carl Chiarella

(University of Technology, Sydney, Australia)

l      Guido Caldarelli

(Universita' La Sapienza, Roma, Italy)

l      Michel Dacorogna

(SCOR SE Zurich Branch, Zurich, Switzerland)

l      Tiziana Di Matteo

(King's College London, London, UK

The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)

l      J.Doyne Farmer

(Santa Fe Institute, Santa Fe, USA)

l      Mauro Gallegati

(Universita Politecnica delle Marche, Ancona, Italy)

l      Cars Hommes

(University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands)

l      Giulia Iori

(City University, London, UK)

l      Taisei Kaizoji

(International Christian University, Tokyo, Japan)

l      Steve Keen

(University Western Sydney, Sydney, Australia)

l      Janos Kertesz

(Technical University of Budapest, Budapest, Hungary)

l      Seunghwan Kim

(POSTECH, Pohang, Korea)

l      Alan Kirman

(G.R.E.Q.A.M, Aix-en-Provence, France)

l      Fabrizio Lillo

(University of Palermo, Palermo, Italy)

l      Thomas Lux

(University of Kiel, Kiel, Germany)

l      Rosario N. Mantegna

(Universita di Palermo, Palermo, Italy)

l      Matteo Marsili

(Abdus Salam ICTP, Trieste, Italy)

l      Luciano Pietronero

(University of Rome, Roma, Italy)

l      Enrico Scalas

(Universita del Piemonte Orientale, Alessandria, Italy)

l      Frank Schweitzer

(ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)

l      Eugene H. Stanley

(Boston University, Boston, USA)

l      Hideki Takayasu

(Sony Computer Science, Tokyo, Japan)

l      Constantino Tsallis

(CBPF, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Santa Fe Institute, Santa Fe, USA)

l      Yi Cheng Zhang

(University of Fribourg, Fribourg, Switzerland)

l      Wei Xing ZHOU

(East China University of Science and Technology, Shanghai, China)




Dr. Jie-Jun Tseng

  Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica, Taipei 11529 Taiwan

  TEL: 886-2-27898376, FAX: 886-2-27889828